CIES Director appointed as a Fellow of the International Association of Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE)

Professor Brian Uy has been appointed as an IABSE Fellow Professor Brain Uyby the current President, Professor David Nethercot. An individual member of at least 45 years of age, that has been a member of the Association for more than eight consecutive years and that has actively participated in IABSE functions such as committees, events and/or IABSE publications may be invited by the President to become a Fellow. There are currently only 115 IABSE Fellows including only three Australians, with Brian now joining Leigh Appleyard (Previous Australian IABSE Chairman) and Peter Clarke.

Professor Brian Uy has been the Chairman of the Australian Group of the International Association of Bridge and Structural Engineering (IABSE) since 2015 and has served on the Permanent Committee of IABSE since 2011. He has also been a member of the IABSE Working Commission WC2 'Steel, Timber and Composite Structures' since 2003 and IABSE Working Group WG 9 'Construction History' since 2014.
IABSE is an association of structural engineers operating on a worldwide basis, with interests of all types of structures, in all materials. It acts to improve our knowledge and understanding of the performance of structures. Its members represent structural engineers of all ages, employed in design, academe, construction, regulation and renewal; many of its members occupy senior roles based on a history of personal achievement. IABSE was founded in 1929 and is based in Zurich, Switzerland. It has over 4000 members in over 100 countries, with a total of 50 National groups worldwide.

International Association for Bridge and Structural Engineering


Share this