Centre managment

Executive Committee

The UNSW Centre for Infrastructure Engineering and Safety is managed by an Executive Committee comprising of the CIES Director, Research Director, two Deputy Directors and the Centre Manager. The committee met on a regular basis to discuss strategy, performance and research opportunities. In addition, input to CIES management is provided by the CIES Academic Group.

Director Professor Chongmin Song
Research Director Professor Mark Bradford
Deputy Director Professor Adrian Russell
Centre Management Theresa Wisniewski

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee meets throughout the year to oversee and monitor the progress of the Centre and to assist the Director in developing strategies to ensure that the goals and objectives of the Centre are realised. The membership of the Management Board for the Centre is:

Industry Advisory Committee

The CIES is supported by an Industry Advisory Committee comprising of 15 members from industry and government organisations. The committee meet regularly with CIES academics to promote the engagement of CIES with Industry.

  • Garry Mostyn,Chair CIES IAC, Principal, PSM
  • Dr James Aldred, Technical Director, Concrete Future/AECOM and Adj Assoc Professor - School of Civil & Environmental Engineering at UNSW
  • Phil Blundy, Technical Director, AECOM Engineers Australia, Structural College Board - Immediate Past Chair
  • Dr Murray Clarke, Director, Structural Engineering APAC
  • Kathy Franklin, Structural Engineer, ARUP
  • Sam Henwood, Director Pavements and Geotechnical at Roads and Maritime Services, NSW
  • Dr Peter Key, National Technical Development Manager, Australian Steel Institute
  • Rod McKay-Sim, Director, Hillside Engineering Pty Ltd, Member, Concrete Institute of Australia
  • John Merrick, Senior Technical Director at ARCADIS Australia Pacific : METRON - Barangaroo Station Design Manager
  • Dr Anna Paradowska, Industry Engagement Manager at the Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, ANSTO and a conjoint Professor in Advanced Structure Materials at the University of Sydney
  • Warren South, Director- Research and Technical Services at Cement Concrete & Aggregates Australia